News and Updates

2017 Hall of Fame Ceremony

On June 6th, 2017, five distinguished NDU graduates were inducted into the National Defense University's National Hall of Fame. These inductees were Senator John McCain ('74), General Eric Shinseki ('86), General Janet C. Wolfenbarger ('94), General Ann E. Dunwoody ('95), and General Martin Dempsey ('96). These five men and women have served and continue to serve the country admirably. 



They were inducted into the Hall of Fame by Major General Frederick M. Padilla (President, NDU) and their Hall of Fame portraits were unveiled as part of the ceremony. 

All five produced heart-warming speeches that spoke to how NDU personally shaped their careers and gave them each an opportunity to push themselves academically and professionally from the operational to the strategic realm. It was evident that they looked back on their time at NDU fondly as a formative experience.

After the induction ceremony, a reception was held by the NDU Foundation and was generously sponsored by PenFed Credit Union.

The Hall of Fame portraits are now on display in the atrium of George C. Marshall Hall.